A Breath of Fresh Air

How I'm getting back out into the countryside whilst living with MS

Big Skies in Morecambe

On a recent visit to my parents, I had the chance of a day out in Morecambe, Lancashire. I’d particularly wanted to visit the Midland Hotel there, which is an Art Deco building that had fallen into disrepair before being recently renovated back to its former glory.

Morecambe, looking towards the Lake District

Morecambe, looking towards the Lake District

I’d scarcely visited Morecambe since I was a child when I remember regularly running along the prom whilst a sea breeze tugged firmly at my coat. The wide prom was still there, and the breeze was still fresh, but I had no recollection of the endless curving view across Morecambe Bay to the blue-tinged Lakeland fells in the distance. It was simply panoramic!

Midland Hotel

Midland Hotel

We gently made our way along the prom to the hotel. I was not disappointed! It is so elegant with its smooth white walls and its curves which complement the sweep of the shoreline.

hotel entrance

hotel entrance

We made our way inside to have a morning coffee and found more elegance coupled with a relaxed atmosphere. And views! Through the long windows we could look out across the sunny bay. It was beautiful.

long hotel windows to maximise the views

long hotel windows to maximise the views

As was the decor. Dad and I had a little mooch round, and I was really impressed by the bar, all pinks and reds.

looking out from the bar

looking out from the bar

I saw someone taking photos of the ceiling above the spiral staircase. I had to have a look too … and then I also had to take a photo!

spiral staircase from below

spiral staircase from below

Outside, we had a walk down the stone pier which has a bird theme. As well as a large metal sculpture of cormorants, more are perched at intervals along the railings.

cormorants at start of pier

cormorants at start of pier

And a feature I totally appreciated: there are breaks in the cobbles so that those on wheels can have a smooth passage along. Full marks for that!

cobblestone gap along pier

cobblestone gap along pier

The sea front is so long and the parking opportunities so numerous that you can choose how little or how much you want to do and park accordingly. There is plenty of space to run if you are young and energetic like my four-year-old niece who came with us and illustrated the point admirably! It is flat and bump-free if your form of transport is a pram or wheelchair. Or it makes a lovely cycle ride along the whole bay if you prefer. And all with plenty of sea air!

fishing boat in the bay

fishing boat in the bay

Single Post Navigation

I'd love to hear your comments

