A Breath of Fresh Air

How I'm getting back out into the countryside whilst living with MS

Bright Skies

What a beautiful end to November! We had experienced three solid days of fog and I was beginning to despair of ever seeing the sun again. Then Sunday dawned: the mist had lifted and the sky was clear blue. Even better, I was off to archery!

It was wonderful to be outdoors. I was even too warm in my carefully put on layers as I sat, putting my bow together, bathed in sunshine.

archery under blue November skies

archery under blue November skies

It is exactly a year since I completed the beginners course and decided to become a member of the archery club. I’m so glad I did. It’s such a friendly place and provides a wonderful setting to spend some time outside.

and surrounded by woodland

… and surrounded by woodland

It was quite odd to see the new members setting up on the field, having just completed the course themselves, and thinking that that was me a year ago. I’m not sure I’ve improved greatly in that time, but that wasn’t ever the main aim. Others certainly have improved, and I’m sure the new people will too. But I’m mainly enjoying mixing with new people, learning something new, and not dwelling on what I used to do.

my archery chair

my archery chair

I’m very pleased to say that I’ve been able to go to archery for three weeks on the trot – I think it’s January since I last managed that! That is definitely the up-side to having had a quieter life recently.

However, I’ve been quite disappointed with my form week on week – instead of improving, I’ve got steadily worse! Experienced members have been really supportive, though. I think it’s a known ‘thing’ that people put pressure on themselves and so get worse (apparently!). They also reassure me that the important thing is to enjoy coming. That it so true … though I’m going to try a heavier bow next time just to see if that helps!

a perfect sunset to end the day

a perfect sunset to end the day

I have started to notice that I’m less wowed by the feeling of happy fresh air tiredness that I get from archery or tandeming or gardening. Don’t get me wrong, I really, really appreciate it, but it doesn’t take me by surprise as much as it did initially, when it stirred a memory from some time before. Now, it is something that I experience relatively frequently and it feels more of a continuation of the outdoor part of my life, which had had a blip in it for a while.

Single Post Navigation

I'd love to hear your comments

