A Breath of Fresh Air

How I'm getting back out into the countryside whilst living with MS

Electric Wheels

An exciting moment: the inaugural trip on our newly-adapted power-assisted tandem!* The sun was shining, it was a weekend and the tandem was ready. We hopped aboard and headed for our local woods. It’s our most reliable route and, importantly, has a cafe at journey’s end.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a very strange feeling to be flying through warm air, wearing shorts and being in Yorkshire; I associate warm-weather tandeming with France! I got over the feeling very quickly and was soon enjoying seeing the trees in full leaf, hearing the birds singing and smelling the summer air.

The electric motor whirred quietly and satisfyingly when needed. It was very helpful to Pete on the uphill parts of the path. He felt that his knee would not have been up to the trip otherwise. So our bike is now adapted for both our disabilities; though hopefully Pete’s is temporary! Ultimately, the aim is to get up on to higher ground than would be possible with only one person pedalling for two. An exciting prospect!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn the meantime we enjoyed a sunny cafe stop, watching the world go by – for quite a while! It was wonderful to be out of the house on a small adventure under our own steam.

As I dismounted when we arrived home, the journey (all five miles of it!) hit me rather suddenly. I realised that it was a while since I had undertaken such a trip and that for me it was the equivalent of an athlete’s training run (well, that’s what I tell myself anyway!) I don’t think an hour sitting in the sun helped either! I always forget on the first day of summer that time spent in the full heat of the sun results in hours wilting under a fan. Well, it’s at the back of my mind but I can never resist that first blast of too much heat. It’s just about worth the payback. And we are itching to be out again!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA* Details of how we added the electric wheel are on the About the Tandem page

Single Post Navigation

I'd love to hear your comments

